4th Annual Backbone Press Chapbook Competition

We are currently accepting submissions to our 4th Annual Chapbook Competition!

We welcome unpublished chapbooks of poems between 20-36 pages in length. Previously published poems should be listed in an acknowledgments page. Simultaneous and multiple submissions are accepted, however please inform us if your manuscript is accepted elsewhere. The contest is open to new, emerging, and established writers. Winner will receive book publication, $250 prize, and (20) copies of the chapbook. In addition, the winner will receive a small honorarium for a reading or chapbook launch event. All submissions should be submitted via Submittable with a $20 submission fee. Deadline is March 6, 2022 and the final judge is Tyree Daye.

About the Judge:

Tyree Daye is a poet from Youngsville, North Carolina, and a Teaching Assistant Professor at UNC-Chapel Hill. He is the author of two poetry collections River Hymns (2017) APR/Honickman First Book Prize winner and Cardinal from Copper Canyon Press (2020). Daye is a Cave Canem fellow. Daye won the 2019 Palm Beach Poetry Festival Langston Hughes Fellowship, 2019 Diana and Simon Raab Writer-In-Residence at UC Santa Barbara, and is a 2019 Kate Tufts Finalist. Daye most recently was awarded a 2019 Whiting Writers Award.


The Backbone Press Chapbook Competition is funded, in part, by the Durham Arts Council.